Boating in the Lake of the Ozarks region means complying with the law, the same as people must do when driving. Failure to do so often results in boat accidents resulting in severe or catastrophic injuries.
Many injured in a boating mishap do not realize they can seek economic compensation from the at-fault party or their insurer. A good first step is learning what is and is not illegal on the water.
This knowledge can help you determine if the other party to the accident was negligent, a critical element in Missouri injury claims.
Boating speed limits
When operating a boat at night, the speed limit is 30mph. For the record, this speed limit starts one-half hour after sunset and ends one hour before sunrise.
Two other speed violations that cause boat accidents:
- Operating boats faster than idle speed within 100 feet of anchored vessels, docks, buoyed areas, etc.
- Operating personal watercraft (jet ski, etc.) faster than “slow, no wake” speed within 50 feet of people in the water, other boats and personal watercraft
This information is vital to your case if you believe the other party negligently exceeded these limits, causing your injuries.
Two more common causes of negligent boat accidents (not necessarily involving speed) are operating a vessel while intoxicated and wake jumping. When boaters ignore safety and someone gets hurt, they are responsible for making things right for the victim.
Put the law to work for you
Under Missouri negligence laws, injured boat accident victims can seek financial compensation. Consider speaking with a legal representative to obtain restitution for the harm you or a family member suffered on the water.